ProofStack case study · Last updated 2026-10-06

Radius

Monetizes grassroots community organizers by offering a free tier up to 100 members, then charging a per-group Pro subscription (£12/$15 per month) for unlimited members, private groups, and analytics.

Radius is a local community platform positioned as a Meetup alternative for groups, events, and informal activities. Joining and attending is always free; organizers get a free tier up to 100 members per group, while Pro costs £12 (shown as $15) per month per group for unlimited members, private groups, group analytics, and 3+ organizers. Network and Enterprise plans offer 5%–10% discounts based on group count. It emphasizes no ads, no algorithms, location-centric discovery, plus calendar subscriptions, embed widgets, an Events API, and data exports.

Revenue and pricing

Revenue range: Not publicly disclosed. Monetization: Freemium, Subscription.

Paid trigger: Free tier caps each group at 100 members; exceeding 100 members, or needing private groups, group analytics, or 3+ organizers, requires upgrading to Pro.

Market analysis

Positioned as a simple, fast, friendly Meetup alternative for grassroots organizers, emphasizing no ads, no algorithms, no data selling, and location-centric discovery rather than purely online social networking.

Market risk: established platforms like Meetup, Eventbrite, and Facebook Events already own mindshare and event supply, and local community tools depend heavily on city density, making expansion slow.

Acquisition and operations

Primary channel: SEO.

Uses llms.txt for a machine-readable product summary, builds documentation, FAQ, blog, and screenshots pages, creates comparison and migration pages around 'Meetup.com alternative', 'Eventbrite alternative', 'Facebook Events alternative', and 'Migrate from Meetup', and covers local search with city pages (e.g., New York, London, Toronto).

Visitor creates a group or posts an activity for free → group hits the 100-member cap or needs private groups/analytics → upgrades to Pro (£12/$15 per month per group) → multi-group organizers move to Network or Enterprise.

Reusable and non-reusable parts

Copy: Replicable: a clear paywall of 'free small groups + per-group subscription' targeting grassroots organizers ignored by big platforms; a machine-readable product summary via llms.txt and docs; comparison pages around 'Meetup alternative' and 'Eventbrite alternative'; and free hooks like calendar subscriptions, embed widgets, API, and data exports.

Do not copy blindly: Hard to replicate: the local network effects from Radius's existing 500+ communities, 1,000+ early users, and 120+ cities; plus the trust positioning of 'no ads, no algorithms, no data selling' and its accumulated SEO content assets.

Evidence sources

What people search:Radius

Original suggestions returned by Google, Bing and YouTube with their ranks. DuckDuckGo uses Bing's index and is not counted separately. These endpoints publish no search volume, so none is stated here.

Observed 2026-10-19.

FAQ

How does Radius make money?

Radius monetizes through Freemium + Subscription. The paid trigger is Free tier caps each group at 100 members; exceeding 100 members, or needing private groups, group analytics, or 3+ organizers, requires upgrading to Pro.

Can the Radius revenue evidence be trusted?

ProofStack rates this case as Level C. The current revenue range is Not publicly disclosed, and the linked evidence sources below are the basis for the claim.

What can builders copy from Radius?

Replicable: a clear paywall of 'free small groups + per-group subscription' targeting grassroots organizers ignored by big platforms; a machine-readable product summary via llms.txt and docs; comparison pages around 'Meetup alternative' and 'Eventbrite alternative'; and free hooks like calendar subscriptions, embed widgets, API, and data exports.

Get this analysis for your own product

ProofStack offers a human-verified evidence audit: pricing benchmarks for your category, your customers' actual search phrasing, competitor playbook teardowns, and a non-transferable list — $99, delivered in 48 hours, payment only after delivery. Read a full sample audit · Book an audit