open-design
Monetizes an open-source, free desktop app by selling subscriptions for hosted models, more concurrent tasks, and premium features.
Open Design is an open-source, local-first AI design workspace that integrates with coding agents like Claude Code, Codex, and Cursor, bundling design systems, templates, and skills into a workflow. It offers a free desktop app with BYOK, and monetizes via subscription plans (Plus, Pro, Max, Team) that add hosted models, more concurrent tasks, model credits, and premium support. The product emphasizes open, local, and agent-native, with 84.1K+ GitHub stars and 389 contributors.
Revenue and pricing
Revenue range: Not publicly disclosed. Monetization: Subscription, Freemium, Open source + paid cloud.
Paid trigger: Free plan limits to 1 concurrent task, BYOK only, and community support; paid plans unlock more concurrent tasks, hosted models, model credits, and premium support.
Market analysis
Open-source, local-first, agent-native, with BYOK, contrasting with hosted products like Claude Design.
Competition from established products like Claude Design, Figma, Lovable, Bolt, v0, Framer, and user acceptance of local installation and BYOK.
Acquisition and operations
Primary channel: Open Source.
The specific acquisition story for this product has not been researched yet. Rather than reuse a generic description, this section stays empty until it is.
Reusable and non-reusable parts
Copy: Replicate the open-source strategy: offer a free, local-first tool and leverage the GitHub community for trust and word-of-mouth. Also adopt a BYOK model to lower barriers and monetize via subscriptions for added value.
Do not copy blindly: Hard to replicate is the massive community and ecosystem: 84.1K+ GitHub stars, 389 contributors, 447+ plugins, 151+ design systems, and integrations with 21 coding agents. These take time and community building.
Evidence sources
What people search:open-design
Original suggestions returned by Google, Bing and YouTube with their ranks. DuckDuckGo uses Bing's index and is not counted separately. These endpoints publish no search volume, so none is stated here.
- open-design github 1 of 3 engines, rank 2
- open-design ai 1 of 3 engines, rank 3
- open-design skill 1 of 3 engines, rank 4
- open-design claude 1 of 3 engines, rank 5
- open-design appimage 1 of 3 engines, rank 7
- open-design repo 1 of 3 engines, rank 8
- open-design claude code 1 of 3 engines, rank 8
- open-design docker 1 of 3 engines, rank 9
- open-design mcp 1 of 3 engines, rank 10
- open-design-main 1 of 3 engines, rank 11
Observed 2026-09-14.
FAQ
How does open-design make money?
open-design monetizes through Subscription + Freemium + Open source + paid cloud. The paid trigger is Free plan limits to 1 concurrent task, BYOK only, and community support; paid plans unlock more concurrent tasks, hosted models, model credits, and premium support.
Can the open-design revenue evidence be trusted?
ProofStack rates this case as Level C. The current revenue range is Not publicly disclosed, and the linked evidence sources below are the basis for the claim.
What can builders copy from open-design?
Replicate the open-source strategy: offer a free, local-first tool and leverage the GitHub community for trust and word-of-mouth. Also adopt a BYOK model to lower barriers and monetize via subscriptions for added value.
Get this analysis for your own product
ProofStack offers a human-verified evidence audit: pricing benchmarks for your category, your customers' actual search phrasing, competitor playbook teardowns, and a non-transferable list — $99, delivered in 48 hours, payment only after delivery. Read a full sample audit · Book an audit